Watters sets mark as BHS tankers roll on

    The Bellmont boys, led by the record-breaking swim of Jay Watters, dominated Bluffton 128 to 52 in prep swimming action Thursday, while the BHS girls also came through with seven different girls take individual honors in a 117-68 rout of the visiting Tigers on Senior Night.
    Watters sizzled with a 21.86 for the 50 free win, then added the 100 freestyle victory later with a 50:44.
    "Another record fell!" exclaimed BHS coach Drew Norby. Jay broke  Vinnie Verrone’s record of :21.98. A great swim!" stated BHS coach Drew Norby.
    Bellmont dominated the relays and Watters helped there as he led off the 200 free relay win, and then anchored the 400 free relay victory on senior night.
    Matt Mock, Michael Miller and Zac Torrey combined for the 3:28.1 in the final event. Austin McCord, Matt Mock,, and Torrey joined Watters for the 1:33.55 in the 200 free relay.
    Miller, Mason Schultz, Mason Werling and Austin McCord all combined for the 200 yard medley relay for the Bellmont, as they went a solid 1:51.5.
    Torrey went 1:55.07 to win the 200 free for BHS while Mock went 5:24.49 to earn the blue in the 500 free, with Miller second and Adam Ralston third. Mason Werling took the 200 IM in 2:15.32 with Miller second at 2:16.40.
    Mock won the 500 free in 5:24.49, beating Miller and Adam Ralston of Bellmont. Mason Schultz turned in a strong 1:12.89 to win the breaststroke.
    The boys, with 19 personal bests (three by Sawyer Boyd) improved to 8-2.
    The Squaws are now 8-4, a great improvement from the 3-9 of a year ago.    The girls had 16 personal best performances.  Kelsey Link, Erin Hunter, Sarra Evans, and Bailee Hankenson had two each.
         Nicola Jones won the diving at 1488.95 then Mykayla Voglewede took the 200 free (2:15) and later added the 500 in 6:09. Kelsey Link took the IM in 2:34, Megan Maynard the 50 in 27.66, and Erin Hunter the fly in 1:06 over Maynard and Link.
    Peighton Morlan won the backstroke in 1:10 over Hunter and Hannah Mendez. Bailee Hankenson won the breaststroke in 1:15 over Evans.