Starfire boys repeat as ACAC champs; Leo tops South Adams

    The South Adams boys took four of the top seven places and easily beat the field Tuesday to win their second straight ACAC Cross Country championship at the Adams Central course.
    In the girls race, Leo toppled two-time champ South Adams, 40-55, for the crown, though SA junior Hannah Moore won her second ACAC individual title, adding to her crown in 2008.
    Defending boys' champ Evan Liechty of South Adams finished second to teammate Eric Isch Tuesday as Isch roared in at 16:39 to the 17:08 of Liechty.
    Adams Central's Kyle Fawcett took third in 17:12, earning All-ACAC honors along with South Adams runners Joel Hawbaker (6th in 17:34) and Simon Sprunger (7th in 17:40).
    The Stars totaled 27 points to the 67 of second-place Leo and 95 of third-place Garrett. Adams Central took sixth with 114. Southern Wells was seventh at 195.
    Brody Shane finished out the top five for the Stars, who were rated in the state cross country poll three weeks ago, with an 11th place run of 18:00. Also making second team All-ACAC was AC's Ben Lehman, who ran a solid 17:59 for 9th overall.
    Also earning all-loop honors were Leo's Jon Dammeyer, fourth in 17:20 and fifth-place Kendall Slabaugh of Garrett in 17:30.
    Brett Affolder finished 20th for the Stars in 18:59 and Cody Sprunger followed in 19:00.
    Liechty was attempting to become just the eighth runner in the long history of the ACAC to repeat as a champion.
    Moore became the seventh girls runner to win a second championship, and she kept Hamilton from repeating her 2009 crown, beating her by 18 seconds.

Leo Wins Girls Event
    Leo took five of the top 16 places to top the South Adams girls. Emily Johnson finished at 20:21 for third for the Lions while Breann Fawcett was nipped out by less than a second by Adams Central's Karly Prichard, who finished seventh to earn All-ACAC first-team honors with a 21:00.12 to the 21:00.90 of the Leo runner.
    The top seven runners earned first-team All-ACAC honors and the second seven were on the second team.
    Jenna Smith was fifth for the Stars in 20:40, Sawyer Shane 12th in 21:35 and Kristen Muselman 13th in 21:42.
    The fifth Leo runner, Jenna Parke, finished 16th. South Adams' fifth runner, Allison Amstutz, took 24th in 22:52.
    Kayla Isch went 15th for AC in 21:49, earning honorable-mention All-ACAC honors.
    Mary Fox finished 30th for the Jets in 23:52 while Leah Spangler followed in 24:07. Jessica Dunn ran 25:17 for 38th.
    The sectional events are set for Tuesday at Bellmont.