Parade awards, honors listed; Isch gets key

    The usual passel of awards was passed out after Monday night's Callithumpian Parade, which was conducted in some of the best weather in the event's history.
     A huge crowd turned out for the annual event, with temperatures in the 60s.
    The four float awards went to the following: first, Kekionga Steel Drumz of Fort Wayne; second, The Haunted Barn in rural Hoagland; third, Fennig Landscaping; and fourth, Decatur Dance Academy.
    The Service Award was given to Decatur Police Chief Ken Ketzler, who has for many years been heavily involved in the preparations for the centerpiece of the Callithumpian Celebration.
    The Patron Award went to TND Fireworks of Decatur, which has performed the fireworks show every year it's been held.
    Several marching band awards were presented; at least 12 bands participated in the parade. Here's how the bands finished;
    Class A: first, Norwell; second, Adams Central; third, Blackford; fourth, New Haven; and fifth, Mississinewal best music and best marching and maneuvering, Norwell; best general effect, AC.
    Class B: fiirst, South Adams; second, Harding; third, Antwerp, Ohio; fourth, South Side from Fort Wayne; fifth, Fremon; for best music and best general effect, Antwerp; best marching and maneuvering, South Adams.
    The Larry Reed Award, given in memory of a local man who was devoted to music and presented for the greatest effort, best motivation, and overall enjoyment of music and band participation, was won by Antwerp High School.
    All the band awards were provided by Wendy's restaurant in Decatur.
    Mayor John Schultz gave a Key to the City to this year's parade grand marshall, Larry Isch.