MS Braves win conference title

    FORT WAYNE—Bellmont finished their season by sealing their third consecutive NHMLC tournament crown over the weekend topping the 10-team field with 314 points.
    Carroll was the only team that threatened Bellmont's dominance on the day ending second place with 301 points. Indian Springs finished third with 233 points, then East Noble with 172, Maple Creek with 164, and the host-team Summit MS with 154.
    The rest of the standings fell into place with DeKalb, Woodside, New Haven and Norwell respectively.
    The Braves showed their prowess on the strength of six champions including Grant Gutierrez (117), Caleb Hankenson (132), Bryce Baumgartner (160), Tony Busse (125), Jon Becker (110), and Jon Ruble (90).
    Bellmont also boasted four second-place finishers, a third place, and two fourth places on the day. Carroll had four champions and Maple Creek had three as the only schools with more than one champion.
    Ruble's crown went through East Noble's Logan Monteith in a 5-2 decision in the final, while Becker earned a major decision at 110 over Woodside's Brady Wyro, 11-2. Gutierrez won the 117-pound bouts with a close 4-2 decision over Hunter Reed from Indian Springs. Busse's road ended with a 13-2 major decision over his foe from Summit, Vince Rosales, Hankenson won the 132 bouts with a 9-2 decision over Indian Spring's Seth Rosen, the number one seed, and Baumgartner won at 160 by pinfall over Carroll's Jake Ostrowski in just 59 seconds.
    Trevor Ortiz (95), Matt Laughlin (140), Nick Winters  (150), and Jose Garcia (220) each took second place in their respective weight classes, while Collin Mills had the lone third place for Bellmont at 102 and Braiden Shaw (175) and Mason Burkholder (80) finished at fourth.