Meyer earns first team All-NHC status for Bellmont

    Bellmont placed five players on the All-NHC football squad for 2010, including first team offensive back Daniel Meyer.
    Earning second-team honors for the Braves were offensive guard Jacob Brown, a sophomore, defensive tackle Travis Thatcher and defensive back will Busse.
    Halfback Ryley Hankenson was given honorable mention.
    Conference tri-champion Homestead placed seven players on the first team while tri-champion East Noble placed five players on the first team, and tri-champion Columbia City placed four players on the top squad.
     New Haven, which will play Bishop Dwenger in a 4A Regional on Friday, had seven players named to the first team.
    Randy Hudgins, Columbia City’s head football coach, was named the NHC Coach of the Year after his team bounced back from a 2-7 regular season a year ago to a 10-2 record this year.
    Meyer was second in the league rushing to Te'Vaughn Hurse of New Haven as the Bellmonter compiled 1,481 yards, giving him over 2,800 yards for the last two seasons, and over 3,500 to set a new Bellmont career rushing record.
    Meyer averaged 5.97 yards per carry and scored 17 rushing touchdowns for Bellmont in 2010. He also owns the all-time touchdown mark at Bellmont with over 40.
    "Meyer is a very, very special player. He's right up there with some of the best players we've had come through our program," noted Bellmont coach Rick Burkhalter.
    Hankenson was also a key part of the top rushing offense in the league with 604 yards on 98 carries for a 6.16. He scored 11 rushing touchdowns. Hankenson also was the top receiver for the Braves snaring 14 passes for 256 yards and two touchdowns.
    Thatcher had 35 tackles and three stops for losses for the Bellmont defensive line. Busse had 34 tackles from his defensive back slot.
    Brown earned his starting job and was a solid player all year long for the Braves, which rolled up 2,932 rushing yards in 10 games, the best in the league.
    A.J. Dove of East Noble beat out Homestead's Zach Terrell for the quarterback slot on the first team. Cody Appenzeller of Homestead joined Meyer and Hurse as first team running backs.
    Jeff Shatto, who had that big game against Bellmont at Lucas Oil Field in September, was named first team tight end. Speedster Jordan Gater of East Noble was named first team wideout along with Thomas DeLa Cruz of Columbia City.
    Russ Tucker of New Haven was named All-NHC center with Dan Vendegriff of Homestead and Andrew Wene of DeKalb at guards. Jake Alexander of Homestead and Jacob Cordell of New Haven were top tackles.
    Brad Mills of Homestead, Jack Lowe of New Haven and Jacob Moser of Columbia City were named first team at interior defensive line while Thatcher was named on the second team with Garrtt Bucher of Norwell and Casey Parris of New Haven.
    Dru Durnell of Homestead and Casey Evard of East Noble were named as first team defensive ends.
    Connor Czuk of Carroll headed the group of linebackers. Trentyn Burford of New Haven and Cody Cox of Homestead were also given first team honors.
    The firsts team defensive backs were: Austin Wilburn  of Homestead, Ben Murphy of Columbia City, Bryson Nesbitt of East Noble and Caleb Heckley of New Haven.
    Zqach Housholder of East Noble was given top honors as the All-NHC kicker and Logan Rehrer of Columbia City was named first team punter.