Mayor to get Decatur Award

    The Decatur Chamber announced on Tuesday that Decatur Mayor John Schultz has been selected as the recipient of the 2012 Stephen Decatur Award.    The award, named after naval hero Commodore Stephen Decatur, is given for outstanding service to the community. It was first given in 1988.
    Schultz, who just started his sixth year as mayor of Decatur, will receive the award at the Chamber's annual dinner on Thursday, February 7, at the Mirage Banquet Hall in Decatur. 
    After receiving a degree in accounting he joined the family business, Baker & Schultz, Inc., serving 30 years as president. During this time he served on the board of directors of the Highway Association.  The business sold in 2007 and Schultz was elected mayor of Decatur. He was re-elected to a second term in 2011.
    Prior to becoming mayor, he served 16 years on city council.
    The mayor has served on numerous governmental boards and committees, the Chamber said in making the announcement.  These include the Decatur Parks and Recreation Board and Decatur Plan Commission.
    Schultz has coached Little League and seventh grade basketball at St. Joe School.  He also served on the board of Decatur Bank and Trust.
    Schultz, 63, has been married to his wife, Brenda, for 43 years. They have three children: Mike (wife Angie), Becky (Joe) Ruble, and Lisa (Josh) Mills. John is a lifelong member of St. Mary’s Catholic Church where he has been actively involved.  John and Brenda have seven grandchildren.
     Tickets for the Chamber dinner are $25 per person and may be reserved by calling the Chamber office: 724-2604.  Reservations must be received by Monday, January 21.

    Previous winners of the Stephen Decatur Award:
    1988 - Rita Setser
    1989 - Joseph Murphy & Elizabeth Hersh (co-honors)
    1990 - Herman Krueckeberg
    1991 - Frank Whitacre
    1992 - Rev. Sylvester Martin
    1993 - Herald Hitchcock
    1994 - John A. Kintz
    1995 - Fred R. Isch
    1996 - Victor B. Porter
    1997 - David L. Collier
    1998 - Thomas N. Sefton
    1999 -  (No award given)
    2000 - John B. Spaulding
    2001 - Mary Friedt
    2002 - Kathryn & Paul Strickler 
    2003 - Wayne Porter
    2004 - Philip A. Barger
    2005 - James D. Compton
    2006 - Jim & Judy Howenstine
    2007 -  Larry D. Macklin
    2008 -  Dennis A. Bieberich
    2009 -  Gregory A. Fleming
    2010 -  Larry Isch
    2011 -  Edwin Coil