Four seek two SA board seats

    Four Berne residents seeking two seats on the South Adams Schools' board of education were interviewed by current board members during a work session Tuesday.
    Applicants seeking appointment to two vacant District 3 seats on the board include Ray Gill, Landon Patterson, Wesley Haight and Rachael Rosswurm. The board will select two of the candidates to fill vacancies at their next meeting, to be held at 5:30 p.m. Tuesday.
    Those selected  will serve the remaining two years of the unexpired terms, from January of 2013 through December of  2014.
    One board vacancy was created on November 6 when Tony Mellencamp was elected to a seat on the Adams County Council. Mellencamp will step down from the school board at the end of the year.
    The second opening was created when Amy Orr was elected to an at-large seat on the board. Orr currently serves as a member from District 3, but reportedly will be moving out of the district.
     Orr was a three-vote victor over Gresham (Bud) Bearrs, 1,193-1,189, and her victory wasn’t solidified until provisional ballots were counted on November 16. She takes the at-large seat currently held by Steve Dobler, who did not seek re-election. Bearrs did not seek an appointment following his election loss.
    Other members of the board are president Arlene Amstutz, John Mann, Julie Mansfield and John Buckingham.