Five Squaws named to NHC teams

    The Northeast Hoosier Conference has released just before sectionals the all-conference volleyball teams and as expected it is filled with Squaws and Chargers.
    Carroll knocked Bellmont off the pedestal earlier this season giving them their only conference loss of the season and the Chargers earned the regular season crown with an undefeated slate (7-0).
    Five players may be nominated by each coach at a maximum and three of Bellmont coach Craig Krull's selections were named first team along with a pair of Chargers, two Columbia City players, two Norwell players, and a Homestead Archer.
    The Hankenson twin juniors Bailee and Holly were each selected to the first team along with sophomore outside hitter Janaya Wilder for Bellmont in first-team honors. Carroll's Copeleight Ortiz and Charlotte Conser were also first team members as well as Kalisha Goree and Gabrielle Hazen of Columbia City, Jessica Louison and Catrina Zepke of Norwell, and Cassie Libbing of Homestead.
    Rachel Salerno was selected as the Squaw representative on the second team along with Carroll's Jacqueline Quade and Audrey Mallers. DeKalb put two members of their squad on the second team with Bailey Tuttle and Kara Eck making the list. Homestead's Jorden Lentz and Suzanne Peters were named as well as East Noble's Tawni Stech and Kavan Edwards. Norwell's Laken Chaney rounded out the list.
    As for honorable mention, Madalyn Mann was the fifth and final Squaw named for all-conference. Carroll's Taylor James, Columbia City's Macie Hinen, DeKalb's Chandlar Nan, and Norwell's Victoria Runquist and Olivia Geiger were also named to the list. New Haven's lone selection was Britni Bolinger who was named honorable mention.
    The Lady Chargers' coach Doug Helsom was named Coach of the Year by his peers with the 7-0 mark in conference. Bellmont finished at 6-1, Norwell was 5-2, Homestead 4-3, Columbia City 3-4, DeKalb 2-5, East Noble 1-6, and New Haven finished last at 0-7.