Proposal puts county in Stutzman district

    Adams County would shift from the 6th Congressional District to the 3rd CD under a proposed redistricting map unveiled Monday by Indiana statehouse Republicans.
    Under the current congressional roster, the county would move from being represented in the U.S. House of Representatives by Republican Mike Pence to the district now served by first-term GOP Congressman Marlin Stutzman.
    The newly-drawn 3rd CD would include all of Jay County in its southernmost region and run all the way north to the Michigan line. All of Adams, Wells, Allen, Jay, Huntington, Whitely, Noble, DeKalb, LaGrange and Steuben counties, as well as portions of Kosciusko and Blackford counties, would comprise the 3rd District.
    The current 6th District served by Pence runs from Columbus, well south of Indianapolis, northwards through Rushville, Pendleton, New Castle, Anderson and Muncie. The district's northernmost reaches are located east and north of Fort Wayne.

    The 19th Indiana Senate District, currently represented by Markle Republican Travis Holdman, retains its basic shape under the new proposed GOP map. The northern portion of Jay County and a few townships in eastern Huntington County would be added to the district, joining all of Adams and Wells and a portion of Grant counties.
    The newly-drawn Indiana House map transforms the 79th District, now represented by Berne Republican Matt Lehman, from a rectangular district into one which is virtually square. All of Adams County would continue to lie in the 79th, along with three full townships in eastern Wells County and part of one additional township in northeastern Wells. Also included as part of the proposed new district are the southern Allen County townships of Marion, Madison, Monroe and part of Pleasant.
    The 79th District in its current form runs from the Adams-Jay county line to northeast of Grabill.