Skip to main content

Porter’s racing crew wins again at Qatar

February 19, 2013

FOURTH TIME IS A CHARM—5 Graham Trucking has won the Oryx Cup in Qatar for the fourth time in four years. Standing atop their race-winning boat, the crew of Graham Trucking proudly displays their awards from the fruitful trip abroad. (Photo by Chris Denslow)

    DOHA, QATAR—It was a case of déjà vu in slightly easier circumstances for Jimmy Shane and his 5 Graham Trucking team, who raced to victory in the 2013 Oryx Cup UIM World Championship final in Doha Bay on Tuesday afternoon.
    Graham Trucking, owned by Decatur native Ted Porter, has won four of the last five Qatar race championships.
    No driver had ever won the Oryx Cup twice and Shane duly re-wrote the history books with his second win in the space of a month when he cruised to a comfortable triumph once main rival Steve David was penalized a lap before the start for making a premature move on his rival to take the inside line on the back straight of the pre-race warm-up lap.
    “I couldn’t ask for anything more,” said Shane, who didn’t have a full-time H1 ride until 18 months ago. “I will be a father for the first time in three and a half months time and to win here in Qatar two times in less than two months is a superb start to the year for me.
    The race proved to be an anti-climax to three thrilling days of racing in Qatar, with Jon Zimmerman holding on to take second place – after finishing third in January - and David lapping both Mark Evans and Ryan Mallow to place third, despite running a penalty lap.
    “We have a spotter on the tower to watch when we pick up speed and make a move,” said David. “I was sure that we were okay and we appealed against the decision, but it was not to be. It was one of those things.”
    It was a disappointing finale to the week’s racing for Kip Brown in the 95 Spirit of Qatar. He was forced out of the race before the start with engine problems. “”I think we salted up the engine,” admitted Brown. “I had the salt door closed, but I think we got some in through the inlet valve. The exhaust gas temperature started to climb and it was as much as I could do to get the boat back to the pits. It’s very disappointing. You win some, you lose some.”
    In the previous four Oryx Cup UIM World Championship races there had never been a double winner. J. Michael Kelly won the inaugural race in 2009, Dave Villwock was triumphant in 2010 for the Spirit of Qatar Team and Scott Liddycoat and Jimmy Shane won in 2011 and 2012.

View more articles in:
    Tonight's final Northeast Hoosier Conference baseball game will go a long...
    FORT WAYNE— The Braves used a big homerun late in the game from Brett...
    MONROE— South Adams baseball came out on the right end of the conference...


Premium Drupal Themes by Adaptivethemes