NA board sets new 6 p.m. meeting time

   The North Adams Community School Board, which for years has met at 7:30 p.m. on the second Tuesday of each month, has opted to move those monthly meetings to an earlier starting time. The board meetings, starting in February, will begin at 6 p.m. in the district administration building. The board met Tuesday evening and elected a new slate of officers for 2014. Selected as board president for the coming year was Ben Faurote. Stacey Bussel was elected vice president and Tim Ehlerding was named secretary. Business Manager Larry Carty will serve as board treasurer, with Kathy Brown the deputy treasurer and Sheila Magsamen and Arnita Heyerly as assistants. Scott Ainsworth was retained as the board attorney, and Ehlerding was named legislative liaison. Cindy Garner is the recorder during school board meetings. Board members also approved the motion to accept $2,000 in annual compensation.