Monroe posts are filled

    With the arrival of the new year, local governments have begun the process of making appointments for 2013.
    The Monroe Town Council began Thursday evening's meeting by once again appointing Al Lehman as its president, Arlene Workinger as town clerk-treasurer, Jeremy Brown of Burry, Herman,  Miller & Brown as the town attorney, Dio Hernandez as marshall, and Kevin McIntosh as deputy town marshal.
    Other appointments include Marty Shaffer as superintendent of the water & sewage, street, and maintenance departments, with Justin Shaffer as sssistant superintendent of the same, and Carol Longenberger as the school crossing guard.
    Russell Cook was named as fire department chief, with Ken Staub as first assistant chief and Kris Burkhart as second assistant chief.
    Appointed to the Monroe Park & Recreation Board were Jill Ellenberger, Jon Smith, Linda Call, Rich Baker, Holly Mishler, and Steve Krull, who is also superintendent of Adams County Parks & Recreation. The board members will select a chairperson and secretary.
    Named to the Monroe Economic Development Board was Mike Geels, representing the council, along with Lynn Ratcliff, Dan Lehman, Brett Miller, J. Michael Cooper, and Larry Macklin, who is executive director of the Adams County Economic Development Commission. Representatives from Zurcher Tire and Adams Central Community Schools will be named at a later date.
    Al Lehman will represent the town with the U.S. Department of Commerce (Census Bureau) and Deb Giessler with the Adams County Economic Development Commission. Kris Burkhart was recommended to represent the town with the Adams County Emergency Planning Board, and Linda Lehman was named as representative for the South Adams Senior Center and Adams County Council on Aging.
    Monroe will once again use Adams County's Plan Commission and Zoning Board.