Kintz takes home Wahoo crown

WAHOO FOR WINNERS!—The Monroe Senior League softball team won the Wahoo Slugfest in Kendallville over the weekend. The team, sponsored by Kintz Insurance, bested the 12-team field winning their pool play and then the tourney itself. Mississinewa and Homestead’s travel teams were in the pool as was Elkhart Central, the only team to top Kintz in pool play. After earning a bye for the first round, Kintz beat NE Thunderboltz, then topped South Adams and finally the Wallen Wildcats for the championship. The team is seen above: back (L-R)  Ashton Butler, Jessica Schaden, Rileigh Wolpert, Taylor Clark, Annie Isch, Destiny McCroskey, Kayla Stucky, Erika Schaden, Audrey Harkless, Kara Keller. Front: Macy Byerly, Madi Schwartz, Jayla Byer, Kaitlyn Johnson. Not pictured: coaches Doug Schwartz, Doug Peterson, and Jason Johnson. (Photo provided)