Filing window nears for school board candidates

    A brief window will open July 23 for individuals interested in serving on the North Adams, Adams Central or South Adams boards of education to file their petitions of candidacy. The filing deadline ends Aug. 17.
    Three seats are to be filled on each school board during the November general election.
    At North Adams, voters will select one candidate from District 1 (inside the Decatur city limits), one candidate from District 2 (the rural portion on the school district), and one at-large candidate, who may reside anywhere within the district.
    Those seats on the North Adams school board are currently held by Ben Faurote (District 1), Michelle Stimpson (District 2) and Stacey Bussel (at-large).
    The winner of the at-large seat will take office July 1, 2015. The winners of the District 1 and District 2 seats will take office July 1, 2016.

    The terms of three sitting members of the Adams Central School board of education will also be filled during this year’s general election in November. Voters in the AC district will pick candidates for the District 2 seat currently held by Steve Maller, the District 3 seat now held by David Fox and the District 4 seat currently held by Wes Kuntzman.

    At South Adams Schools, board seats to be filled in November include District 1, now held by John Mann, and two District 3 seats, currently held by Ray Gill and Landon Patterson.