DBA award winners

            The Decatur Baseball Association has announced Clemente post-season award winners, and the winners of two skills contests held at the conclusion of the season. Contest winners for both Reese (11-12) and Mays (9-10) were also named.
            For the first time, the DBA awarded several Clemente (ages 7 and 8) post-season awards. Seven players received the 2012 Prospects Award. They were: Prestin Siefring, Kolton Fawbush, Theryn White, Trevor Walker, Kobe Baker, Magnuss Lee, and Chase Lenegar.
            In the Clemente championship game,  won  by Adams Memorial over regular season champ Bleeke Electric, 10-9, Adams players Carter Thomas and Trevor Walker were named Co-MVPs.
            Because of tournament game conflicts, there were two skills contests held for the Eight-and-under age group, and both groups were very competitive. Some players had competed in the Clemente division, some in the Mays (10-and-under), and some both during the regular season.
            In the first group, Isaac Ruble  nipped out Isaiah Wellman 53-52 with Kobe Baker third with 48 and John Ulman fourth with 43 points.
In the second  group, Chase Lenegar and Prestin Siefring had a spirited competition for first place, and both scored 71 points. Ruble won a final sprint to first base, just edging out Siefring, to earn the top award. Magnuss Lee took third at 64 points while Theryn White was fourth at 61. Kam Brown tallied 59.
            In the Reese contest, Jon Ruble, competing on the second night of the contest with one other Reese player,  slammed eight balls to the fence, scoring 44 points on hitting alone, and he totaled 66 points to win the overall title, beating the 59 of Lucas Strickler.
            Strickler, competing in a larger group, topped the 56 points of Nathan Kacsmarek, 50 from Brady Manis and 49 of Tyler Bauer.
            In the 10-and-under contest, Caden Staub tallied 64 points to the 62 of Tanner Walker, 61 of Kobe Ortiz and 57 points of Logan Arriaga. Brendan Gilbert tallied 54 and Corbin Springer 53.