Skip to main content

City of Decatur Golf Tournament results

August 6, 2012

Overall runner-up Luke Ainsworth (left) stands next to his uncle, tournament champion Dr. Mike Ainsworth. (Photo provided)

    The 2012 City of Decatur Golf Tournament made a successful run this weekend at Cross Creek Golf Course in a two-round format on Saturday and Sunday.
    Dr. Mike Ainsworth posted his first win in come-from behind fashion after hitting a 74 in his first round, then shooting a stellar 68 for the second round to win with a -2 142 for the weekend. At even par ending up with a 144 for the tournament was Luke Ainsworth recording a 73 and a 71 respectively for his two rounds.
    Dr. Ainsworth commented on his nephew after the tournament, "It was a comfort to have Luke playing alongside me today. I played well all day and Luke's presence calmed me down to execute good shots."
    Third place went to Todd Kiser who shot a 77/71 for 148 in the men's division.
    In the ladies division, Brenda Shifferly won her 17th women's City of Decatur event shooting a 78/80 two-round score of 158 to seal the title. Brenda attributed her win to "good putting each day along with moral support from my immediate family." She went on to say that both were factors to her success.
    Second-place runner up was Tara Rickord who shot 91/92 putting her weekend total at 183.
    In the super seniors flight, first place honors went to Les Conrad who scored a 160.
    "Birdies on the 11th and 18th holes today sealed the victory for me," Les stated.
    Second place went to John Geels who shot a 161, just one stroke behind.
    Winning for the second time in the senior division was Kermit Summers who defended his regular senior title shooting 80/81 for a 161. AJ Kalver placed second in the senior division just behind Summers with a 162.

View more articles in:
    CELINA—Bellmont opened its spring sports calendar Tuesday afternoon...
    The Final Four teams are locked in as of Sunday and the results for the Beat the...
    Today's and tomorrow's Elite Eight games will decide which four teams will...


Premium Drupal Themes by Adaptivethemes