Skip to main content

Bengals win DFL championship

October 15, 2012

DECATUR BOWL CHAMPIONS— The Burkhalter Bengals won the Decatur Football League Championship on Saturday behind a 24-0 victory against the First Bank of Berne Bears. (Photo provided)

    The Burkhalter Plumbing and Heating Bengals finished its domination of the Decatur Football League Saturday capturing the championship game over the First Bank of Berne Bears by a 24-0 tally at Bob Worthman Stadium on DFL Championship Day.
    The Bengals finished the year with a 5-0 slate and got all the points they would need in the title game when Noah Macklin scored on a one-yard quarterback sneak with 6:30 to play in the second period. Logan Mosser made it 12-0 at the half when he scampered in from 12 yards out for the Bengals.
    In the second half, Payton Boyd broke loose for a 6:55 run of 55 yards for the third six-pointer of the game and the victors ended the scoring for the day with 23.7 seconds left in the final stanza on a three-yard pass from Macklin to Mosser. Fumbles were recovered by Brady Manis for the Bears and Connor Ray and Seth Wampler for the Bengals.
    The Bears finished play on the year with a 3-2 record.

View more articles in:
    FORT WAYNE— The Bellmont Braves varsity golf team finished sixth overall...
    The much-anticipated showdown between the Bellmont Braves and the Norwell...
    WOODBURN— The big bats continue to compliment stellar pitching for the...


Premium Drupal Themes by Adaptivethemes