AC changes given approval

    Many personnel positions were dealt with by the Adams Central Schools Board at its meeting on Tuesday night. Only board member Mike Brown was absent.
    The board accepted the resignation of Kristin Sprunger as AC's assistant technology supervisor. She is leaving after five years to take a position with the Grant County Sheriff's Department at Marion.
    Another unanimous vote hired 2007 Bellmont High School graduate Zach Rambo as the new technology assistant. He will graduate in August from Indiana Institute of Technology in Fort Wayne with a 3.9 grade-point average and a degree in information systems,
    In a letter, Sprunger told school officials, "My time at Adams Central has been one I will never forget. Words cannot express how much Adams Central has meant to me. There truly is a family atmosphere at Adams Central. It is with great sadness that I leave Adams Central, but I will be back to visit."
    She thanked all of AC's leaders and especially technology supervisor Gregg Snyder "for being a great leader, role model, and mentor to me. He truly has been the best person I have ever worked for."
    AC Superintendent Mike Pettibone said Rambo was the best of three "excellent" finalists and Snyder said the words of praise that school officials received about Rambo from Dr. Jeff Walls, a business professor at IIT, were the most spectacular about anyone that he has ever heard. Walls also laughingly admitted that it was he who recently gave Rambo an A-minus grade instead of an A, which lowered his GPA from four to 3.9115.
    Pettibone added that Rambo, and Rambo's wife, were key members of IIT's human resources team which won Human Resources Games state titles against many other colleges and universities in Indiana in 2009 and 2010.

    Meanwhile, the board extended Pettibone's contract to June of 2014 and the contracts of elementary school Principal Terri Laurent and middle school Principal Aaron McClure to June of 2013.
    The contract of high school Principal Sean McConnell was not voted on, but it is in effect until June of 2012.

    Also at the meeting, the board accepted the recommendations of 15 personnel to be AC's lead teachers during the 2011-12 year:
Elementary school
    Kindergarten — Holly Mishler.
    First grade — Mary McCullough.
    Second grade — Leann Schwartz.
    Third grade — Christie Beer.
    Fourth grade — Lanette Buchan.
    Fifth grade — Ked Moser.
    Sixth grade—Kristi Miller.
Middle school and high school
    Mathematics — Julie Beer.
    Science — Sam Beer.
    Business and vocational education — Sharilyn Boots.
    Health and physical education — Dave Neuenschwander.
    English — Krista Jauregui.
    Social studies — Carolyn McCammon.
    Fine arts — Mike Satterthwaite.
    Special Education — Joan Arnold.