1st woman tabbed to lead Indiana Supreme Court

    INDIANAPOLIS — Loretta Rush, a longtime juvenile court judge who joined the Indiana Supreme Court in 2012, was unanimously chosen as the state’s first female chief justice Wednesday, setting the stage for what could be a long run at the court’s helm.
    The seven-member Judicial Nominating Commission chose Rush to succeed Justice Brent Dickson as the high court’s leader. Dickson announced in June that he would step down as chief justice but remain an associate justice.
    Dickson succeeded Randall Shepard as chief justice in 2012. He faces mandatory retirement when he turns 75 in 2016.
    Gov. Mike Pence praised Rush’s appointment in a statement late Wednesday afternoon, noting that the nominating commission ‘‘has made history and ensured that Indiana’s Supreme Court will continue to have outstanding leadership in the years ahead.’’
    Indiana justices are appointed to five-year terms before facing a retention vote.
    For the complete story, see today's print or online editions.